Life’s a Journey, Not a Destination

A quote made famous by Ralph Waldo Emerson, and if you’re a child of the 80’s / 90’s – reproduced in Aerosmith’s “Amazing”.  Not sure if Steven Tyler holds quite the same amount of clout as Emerson….and while I’m hoping for a pretty outstanding final destination….I’m a big believe in the quality of life’s journey.  I’ve found time and time again that our experiences shape us, and that in those very rare experiences that bring out our best physically, emotionally, mentally, and spiritually – we are truly alive.  It’s why I named my blog the way I did.  In my opinion, if you’re not fit in any of the above listed capacities….you don’t have the capacity to truly “live”.

And so, as I referenced last week, I’ve started to dream a bit again about some of the next coveted milestones on my journey, and after about 30 “off days”…I think I’ve come up with a few physical goals that will test my merit, get me out of my comfort zone, and bring out my all-around best.

In 2012 I will:

  1. Complete an Olympic Distance Triathlon – seeing as I’ve never completed even a sprint triathlon (single attempt = epic fail), swimming isn’t overly enjoyable for me or something I’m incredibly talented at – going after this experience definitely gets me out of my area of comfort.  Step 1 – register for a race…….CHECK……registered for Bear Mtn. Tri on 6/3/12.  Step 2 – develop training plan…..CHECK (sorta)……modified / cut back a half-iron training schedule to more appropriate volumes and incorporated enough running to help me accomplish goal #2
  2. Complete AND enjoy the 2012 Boston Marathon.  I’ve thought long and hard about this one….and yeah, I’m still gonna train to go for the sub 3 hour mark in Boston – but it’s not my sole focus.  I’m yet to just go out and enjoy a race….so I’m going to give it a shot…why not, it’s only the most storied marathon ever.  And if I go sub-3, well that’s pretty freaking awesome too….after all, isn’t it more enjoyable when you do something incredibly extraordinary 🙂
  3. Break 18 minutes in a 5k.  So I’ve never really trained for this type of event before…and I’ve gone out and squeaked under 19 a time or two (and subsequently vomited after the finish line…gross).  But come fall – this will be my main training focus so that I can better represent my team in our annual turkey trot.
  4. Ramp up the strength training – I’m yet to quantify this one yet but here’s the gist…increased lean muscle mass, decreased body fat.  Did you know that after the age of 30 you lose approximately 1% of your total lean muscle mass annually if you don’t work at keeping it?  Yikes

Of course, physical fitness is just one facet of life…and I’ll be sure to set goals for the other parts of life  (relationships / family strength, faith, community / charitable, professional, personal assets).  I encourage you to do the same.

And I’d be willing to bet you…if you think about it….then write it down…then state it publicly….then track your progress….you WILL get it done!

Leave me some love (aka comments) and tell me what you’ve got in store for 2012.

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Life’s a Journey, Not a Destination

  1. Gina

    Because of YOUR passion and drive to set and achieve goals you have taught me that I too can achieve something I never thought I could do in a million years. I just wanted to thank you for your support and inspiration you have given me the past year and for that I am truly grateful.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

